ArticleCity.comArticle Categories Title 47 of the Code of Federal Regulations & Part 15 – – FCC Testing and Certification

Title 47 of the Code of Federal Regulations & Part 15 – – FCC Testing and Certification

Originally Posted On: Title 47 of the Code of Federal Regulations & Part 15 – – FCC Testing and Certification


If you or your company have begun looking into bringing any sort of electronic or wireless device to market, you’ve likely heard of Title 47 and Part 15 for FCC testing and certification. Each of these regulations refer to a variety of regulatory standards for devices that produce radiofrequency emissions, an umbrella that covers virtually all electronics.

In our podcast this month, we take an in-depth look and answer questions about these FCC standards and testing processes:

Title 47 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)

What is CFR Part 15?

CFR Part 15 is the section of Title 47 that defines and regulates radiofrequency emissions. These include intentional emissions, such as the radiation of phones and radios that use RF to communicate. However, there’s also unintentional and incidental radiation which are the accidental byproduct of operations. Anything which produces these types of emissions is a Part 15 device that’s subject to relevant FCC regulations.

What is a Part 15 Device?

A Part 15 device is any device that produces intentional, unintentional, or incidental radiation within the levels that Title 47 Part 15 regulates. Before going to market or beginning any sort of advertising for such a device, you must ensure regulatory compliance.

What Are FCC Class A Emissions?

Class A emissions are a grouping that refer, respectively, to residential and industrial devices. If a device surpasses the Class A emissions requirements, then it produces an RF output that’s safe for homes, apartments, etc.

What is FCC Part 15b?

FCC Part 15b contains the regulations that govern unintentional radiators. These are devices that produce unintentional RF radiation, rather than devices that intentionally use radiofrequency waves for communication purposes. Today, most consumer devices use digital logic to operate, which means that they have computerized internal systems that are not meant to produce RF radiation but do so nonetheless.

What is FCC Compliance?

In the context of Part 15, FCC compliance or conformance refers to testing your device to ensure it’s within safe RF output levels. When a device doesn’t comply with FCC regulations, it can pose an interference risk to other electronic devices. Excessive EMI has the capability to interfere with everything from aircraft flight control systems to hospital life support, and it can prompt severe regulatory penalties for the responsible company.

Who Needs Part 15 Compliance Testing?

If you produce any sort of electronic device, it’s likely that you need Part 15 compliance testing. Even simple electronic tools today often operate on digital logic and produce sufficient levels of EMI that they need to be Part 15 compliant. If you’re involved in any of the following fields or industries and have questions or would like support, contact our team of subject matter expert test engineers here today.

·         Electronic Device Manufacturers

·         IoT / IIoT

·         Smart Devices

·         Smart Appliances

·         Smart Pet Devices

·         Smart Home (i.e. Smart Lighting, Smart Locks)

·         Smart City

·         Smart Wearable Tech

·         Athletic Gear

·         Heart Rate Sensors

·         Industries

·         Agriculture

·         Automotive / Automotive & EV Components

·         Forestry

·         Logistics

·         Manufacturing

·         MedTech / Medical Devices

·         Mining

·         Oil & Gas

·         Robotics

·         SatCom & Telecom

Since 1963, Compliance Testing has the expertise, experience, and facilities to provide reliable, efficient testing to get your tech to market with industry leading quality and speed.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.