What to Expect When You Get your Second DUI Charge in Georgia
Photo from Unsplash
If you’re reading this blog post, then there’s a pretty good chance that you’ve already been charged with driving under the influence (DUI). When facing a DUI charge for the second time in Georgia, it pays to know precisely what may happen in court and what possible punishments you can expect.
In Georgia, if it is your second DUI charge within five years of the first one, or four years if someone was hurt, then the consequences are severe. You will likely face jail time or a prison sentence, have your license revoked for life (unless you complete a particular driving privilege program), and pay fines and court costs.
Programs Required for a Second DUI Charge
The court can also order you to attend Alcoholics Anonymous (A.A.), Narcotics Anonymous programs, or other programs that might help with your alcoholism or drug addiction issues. If you have a medical condition known to make you an alcoholic or drug addict, then the judge can order that you must be treated for that medical condition.
If you are sentenced to probation, your penalties will remain the same, but depending on the program you complete, it may have a different list of items that you have to complete as part of your probation. For example, if ordered to attend A.A., then many (but not all) states require attendance at A.A. meetings at least once per week and completing other A.A. programs such as Alcoholics Anonymous Meetings and Narcotics Anonymous Meetings.
Common Penalties for a Second DUI Charge in Georgia
If you are sentenced to jail time and prison, you will also have to pay a more significant fine – the amount of the fine increases with each DUI. For a second offense, the fine is double what it was for your first offense. The same is true for the court costs and any additional fees you have to pay to get your driver’s license reinstated.
In Georgia, when facing charges of driving under the influence, there are many things that you should know about so that you can be prepared when going to court. For example, it’s important to note that if it’s your first DUI charge, you can’t be put in jail until you have had an opportunity for a jury trial. On the other hand, if it’s your second DUI charge, you can be put in jail immediately – unless you are younger than age 21. Several aggravating factors may cause the judge to consider jail time, including refusal to submit to testing or prison time when facing a second DUI charge in Georgia.
If you face charges of driving under the influence, it’s also essential to know how long your license will be suspended. In Georgia, first offenders typically have their licenses suspended for six months. The second offender has their license suspended for at least one year. In addition to the license suspension, you will also have to pay a fine of $600 to $1,000 and pay everything that your insurance company will not cover after an accident.
If you face charges for driving under the influence, it’s essential to know what type of penalties you can expect from a DUI arrest. For example, first offenders may be sentenced to up to 12 months in prison, followed by 12 months on probation and paying court fees. Second offenders may be sentenced anywhere from 3 days to one year in jail and between 12 to 36 months on probation. In addition to jail time, second offenders might also be ordered to pay substantial fines.
You should also know about the penalties for multiple DUI charges. When facing a second or third DUI charge within five years of the first one, you can expect even harsher penalties than most first-time offenders (including jail time, license revocation for life, and very high fines).
Where You Can Get Help if Faced with a Second DUI Charge
If you are facing charges for driving under the influence in Georgia, then it’s essential to seek advice from an experienced attorney as soon as possible. There are many ways that a DUI can be reduced or even dismissed, but you will need the help of a skilled DUI attorney so that you can make proper decisions during this stressful time.
A Georgia DUI lawyer will ensure that your rights are adequately protected and vigorously fight for your interests. If there’s a chance of reducing or dismissing your charges, then it may pay big dividends to retain the legal services of a Georgia DUI attorney as quickly as possible.
In Georgia, the penalties for DUI are severe and will not be reduced unless they are overturned. If you’ve been charged with DUI and want to fight these charges, then contact an experienced lawyer as soon as possible. The sooner you act, the more options you will have in fighting this charge.
At Jarrett Maillet J.D., P.C., we have the expertise and knowledge of Georgia DUI laws you need after your second offense. To get started on your Savannah, Georgia DUI case, contact us today for a free case evaluation.
Jarrett Maillet J.D., P.C.
210 E 31st St
Savannah, GA 31401