ArticleCity.comArticle Categories How to Get a TOGAF Certification

How to Get a TOGAF Certification

Photo from unsplash

Originally Posted On: How to Get a TOGAF Certification – Advised Skills


Do you want to earn more money? Getting a TOGAF certification can lead to an increase in your earnings. Read on to learn how to achieve this.

80% of Global 50 companies and 60% of Fortune 500 companies use TOGAF. The strong demand for TOGAF certified professionals shows no sign of slowing down.

Would you like to earn more money and make yourself more competitive by getting a TOGAF certification? Do you want to know more about the certification process before you commit?

Find out more here about TOGAF certification and how it can help your career. You’ll learn what you need to do to get certified and how to successfully complete the process.

What Is TOGAF Certification?

The Open Group Architecture Framework (TOGAF) is an enterprise architecture methodology. It’s a high-level, systematic approach for designing, implementing, and managing enterprise IT architecture.

TOGAF offers a framework for organising the development process. Its goals include reducing errors, keeping projects on time and on budget, and aligning IT with business units.

TOGAF certification is official recognition that you understand the TOGAF standard and can apply it.

TOGAF 9 Certification

TOGAF certification doesn’t expire. You don’t need to renew it.

However, you may need to get a new certification when new versions of the TOGAF standard come out. The most current version is 9.2.

If you had TOGAF 8 certification, the deadline for upgrading has passed. You’ll need to get re-certified for TOGAF 9.

TOGAF Certification Benefits

You get several advantages from a TOGAF certification. Unlike some other enterprise architecture certifications, TOGAF doesn’t have any prerequisites. You can get TOGAF certified even if you’re just starting your career.

In addition, TOGAF certification is more cost-effective than many other certifications.

TOGAF is a globally-recognised enterprise architecture standard. Many companies specifically look for TOGAF certified experts.

You can increase your earning potential by getting TOGAF certified. You also increase your marketability when looking for a new position.

Types of TOGAF Certification

Two TOGAF certifications are currently available: TOGAF 9 Foundation and TOGAF 9 Certified. Certification is available at the individual and organisational levels.

TOGAF 9 Foundation

TOGAF 9 Foundation is the entry-level certification. It certifies that you have a basic understanding of the TOGAF 9 standard. It shows that you have demonstrated your knowledge of the terminology, structure, basic concepts, and core principles.

TOGAF 9 Foundation also verifies that you understand the core principles of enterprise architecture.

TOGAF 9 Certified

TOGAF 9 Certified demonstrates that you have a deeper knowledge of the TOGAF 9 standard. It means that you can analyse and apply your knowledge.

TOGAF Certification Exams

You need to pass the relevant exam(s) to become TOGAF certified. When you pass the Part 1 exam, you earn TOGAF 9 Foundation certification. You earn TOGAF 9 Certified status when you pass the Part 2 exam.

You can take the Part 1 and Part 2 exams together.

Part 1 Exam

The Part 1 exam doesn’t have any prerequisites. The exam has 40 multiple-choice questions. It covers the material for TOGAF 9 Foundation.

Each question is worth one point. You need to score at least 55% to pass.

Part 2 Exam

Passing the Part 1 exam is a prerequisite for the Part 2 exam. The Part 2 exam has eight complex scenario questions. The questions can cover any of the learning outcomes for TOGAF 9 Certified certification.

The Part 2 exam is open book.

The questions have gradient scoring. The best answer scores 5 points, the second-best answer scores 3 points, and the third-best answer scores 1 point. You don’t get any points for the distracter answer.

A passing score is 60%.

Combined Part 1 and Part 2 Exam

The combined Part 1 and Part 2 exam has two sections. These sections correspond to the Part 1 and Part 2 exams. You need to score at least 55% on the first part and 60% on the second part to pass.

You must pass both parts of the combined exam to get an overall passing grade. If you don’t pass a section, you won’t receive certification. However, you only need to resit the exam(s) corresponding to the failed section(s).

Resitting Exams

If you don’t pass the certification exam, you can resit it. You have to wait at least one month before you sit the exam again.

You may be eligible for a discount voucher to resit the TOGAF certification exam. If you used an accredited training course, you should contact the provider. Otherwise, you can contact The Open Group directly with a copy of your examination score report.

Preparing for the TOGAF Certification Exams

To prepare for a TOGAF 9 certification exam, you can study on your own or enrol in a training course. Self study may seem like a good way to economise. However, the amount of material you’re responsible for knowing makes a training course the best option for many candidates.

Self Study

You can buy a self-study pack for the TOGAF 9 certification exams from The Open Group. The study pack includes preparation for the Part 1 and Part 2 exams. You get resources like study guides, practice tests, and reference cards.

Accredited Training Course

Accredited TOGAF training courses are an effective and efficient way to prepare for the TOGAF certification exams. Accredited training courses are approved by The Open Group. You can be sure you’re getting the most accurate and useful information to prepare you for success on the exam.

Most training courses are live online. They last two to four days depending on the program. You’ll get official study materials like a coursebook, workbook, and sample exams.

Course methods typically include multimedia presentations, group exercises and discussion, and case study exercises. You’ll also have online practice tests.

TOGAF Certification Cost

The cost of the TOGAF certification exam is the only fee you’ll need to pay for certification. If you take an accredited training course, the cost of the exam will be part of the course fee. You’ll either take the exam as part of the course or you’ll receive a voucher to take the exam at a testing center.

If you follow the self-study method, you’ll pay for the exam directly. You can pay for the exam when you register with the exam provider. You can also buy an exam voucher from The Open Group.

Starting Your TOGAF Certification

TOGAF certification benefits you and your career. Once you’ve decided to pursue certification, finding an accredited training course is an important next step.

Advised Skills is an accredited and licenced TOGAF training course provider. The more than 6,000 graduates of our certification programs have a 98.99% exam pass rate. Our courses are available in 20 countries worldwide.

Register today for one of our upcoming TOGAF 9 certification courses and take your career to the next level.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.