How Much Is a Speeding Ticket in Louisiana?
Photo by paul jespers
Originally Posted On: https://louisianaspeedingticket.com/how-much-is-a-speeding-ticket-in-louisiana/
Did you know that there were nearly 770 traffic fatalities in Louisiana in 2018? This happened partly because a lot of drivers drive their cars very fast on public roads and highways. In an attempt to prevent such unfortunate events, the Louisiana State has stringent speeding laws that must be obeyed.
But how much is a speeding ticket in Louisiana? And what should you do to pay it if you ever get caught speeding? This article takes a closer look at the Louisiana speeding ticket cost, so keep reading.
1. Knowing The Speed Limits In Louisiana
Before diving into the cost of a speeding ticket, it’s important to know the actual speed limits throughout the entire state. For example, you should be driving with a speed up to 75mph on an interstate or controlled-access highway. On a multi-lane highway, the speeding limit is 65mph.
2. The Costs Of Violating The Speed Limits
Driving faster than the speed limit implies that you are violating the law and a police officer could pull you aside to give you a speeding ticket. The actual cost of such speeding tickets differs from municipality to municipality. However, it’s possible to have a rough understanding of how speeding tickets are calculated in Louisiana. For example:
- Driving 1 to 9 mph over the speed limit can result in a $115 fine or more
- Driving 10 to 14 mph over the speed limit can result in a $215 fine or more
- Driving 15 to 20 mph over the speed limit can result in a $240 fine or more
- Driving 21mph or faster than the speed limit might result in a court appearance requirement
Again, remember that these fines vary from county to county, but as a general rule of thumb, the Louisiana speeding fines can be between $100 and $300 in most cases.
3. How Some Louisiana Speed Fines Are Calculated
A police officer usually has a computer that automatically calculates these fines based on how fast you were going. Keep in mind that the fines might get higher if you have violated speed limit laws more than once.
When calculating the fine, $2 is added for each mile over the speed limit. You might also have to pay for court costs, jury compensation, costs for clerk assessment, etc. If you don’t wear a seatbelt when driving, you can be fined an additional $25.
4. Additional Information You Need To Know About Louisiana Driving Laws
Police officers take a lot of aspects into account when fining speeding drivers. For example, if a driver has a clean driving record for the last two years, he or she can attend a driving school in Louisiana. If a court appearance is required, they need to appear in court and/or call the traffic office for additional information.
Also, if the computer happens to be non-functional while the police officer writes down the ticket, the fine will have a base price with no additional fees included. If a driver has been involved in a car accident, he must appear in court.
5. Louisiana Fines and Penalties For Other Violations Of Traffic Laws
Driving over the speed limit is not the only law that drivers can violate while traveling through Louisiana. Each state has its own rules and Louisiana is not an exception in this case. Drivers need to be fully aware of these laws and obey them whether they drive on highways or city roads.
For example, driving without a license is a serious law violation and it results in a court appearance. This can happen to teenagers who drive vehicles without going to a driving school and passing their driving test first. Also, driving without “proper equipment” means that your vehicle is in a condition that makes it unsafe for public roads.
Such vehicles can be damaged cars that have been poorly reconditioned. If your vehicle doesn’t have headlights, functional brakes, and/or brake lights, you might be pulled over by a police officer and be fined around $100, depending on the municipality. Not using a child restraint when driving with a child in your car can result in a mandatory court appearance.
6. What To Do If You Get a Speed Ticket
In most states, the instructions on what to do in such situations are printed on the back of your ticket. In Louisiana, things are a little different. You need to contact the parish where you have been caught speeding and ask for more information on how and where you can pay your ticket. You also have other options at your disposal.
For example, you might want to plead not guilty and fight the ticket in court if you think you have a legitimate case. Keep in mind that going this route might cost much more than just paying the ticket. However, if you already have a lot of speeding tickets and you think that another one can seriously dent your driving record, you can fight the speeding ticket got in Louisiana.
Another thing that you should remember is that speeding tickets might increase your insurance premium, especially if you have a lot of them. That’s why some people decide to fight the ticket or any other fine if they think they are not guilty. If you decide to fight the ticket, you need to find yourself a good lawyer who can help with your case.
Now You Know How Much Is a Speeding Ticket In Louisiana!
Hopefully, this article provided ample answers to your original question – how much is a speeding ticket in Louisiana? It’s important to know the laws when driving through this state whether you reside here or you’re just traveling.
Apart from the fine you can get when driving too fast through Louisiana, you’ll also get points on your driving record. We have an article on how to remove the points you got while being fined for speeding in Louisiana, so don’t hesitate to read that for more information.
Also, if you think you got your ticket in an unjustifiable manner, make sure that you contact our experienced lawyers who can help you today!
Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.